Constitution of Vernon County Early Settlers Association

Adopted Oct.14, 1887.

Preamble

We the early settlers of Vernon County Wisconsin, for the purpose of cementing our friendships, cherishing memories of the past, and educating the younger residents of the county concerning pioneer life, adopt this constitution:

Articles

- Art 1 This organization shall be known as the Vernon County Early Settlers Association.
- Art 2 Its officers shall be a president, vice president, secretary and treasurer.
- Art 3 The president shall perform the duties that naturally devolve upon a presiding officer.
- Art 4 The vice president in the absence of the president, shall perform his duties.
- Art 5 The secretary shall keep a true record of all meetings of the association.
- Art 6 The treasurer shall keep the funds of the association, until called for by order of the president and secretary.
- Art 7 All officers shall be elected annually by ballot.
- Art 8 The officers shall constitute an executive committee.
- Art 9 The executive committee shall call a meeting in the month of January of each year.
- Art 10 Conditions of membership are: A good moral character, residence in the county prior to 1870 and the payment of fifty cents.
- Art 11 The treasurer shall, at each annual meeting, exhibit to the executive committee vouchers for all money disbursed, all funding in his possession.
- Art 12 This constitution may be amended by a majority of the members at an annual election at the annual meeting, and the right of suffrage shall be enjoyed by women.

Members of the Association

Oct 14, 1897

Earl M. Rogers

N. Cox

S. Ramsetti

H.C. Gosling

Hartwell Allen

D.A. Cade

John Stevenson

N. O. Defrees

W. W. Dunlap

John Gosaline

P. Bouffleur

W. R. DeSeap

E. Tilton

M. C. Nichols

Mrs. George Seatta

M. J. Sallander

Isaac Grover

Nathaniel Cox

D. W. Horton

Mrs. John Gorshine

Mrs. N. Coe

Mrs. Nathaniel Cox

M(rs.?) V. B. Richards

Wm. Burlin

H. Hikock

Allen Rusk

J. W. Marshall

Jerome Favor

C. M. Butt

R. S. McMichael

G. W. Nuzum

George Burlin

Dec 10, 1897

Emilus Goodell

P.S. Hamilton

Mrs. E.A. Stark

Jun 24, 1898

Mrs. D.O. Mahoney

A.W. Depearr

Chalres A. Tenney

H. Trowbridge

John W. Appleman

?sarah Guist

G.H. Buchanon

Samuel Henry

Joshua S. Groves

John Dawson

Isaiah Glenn

George Welch

M.A. Weland

May 28, 1898

F.M. Minshall

Wm. Dowell

H.D. Williams

Wm. F. Lindermann

B.F. Ferguson

Frank Primmer

Joe Snodgrass

G.W. Strindle

B.F. Purdy

Wm. Wmith

Wm. Huchinson

Wm. Brandon

C.C. Brown

Maria Nelson

Abner Silbaugh

C.D. Williams

Fred Eckhardt

E.W. Hazen

E. W. Hazen

Abe Russell

Frank Buchanan

C.V Porter

July 4, 1902

H.E. Pettit

G.H. McSells

Alfred Procter

Martin Huntington